Camera Lucida

This past week Boyfriend and I developed and scanned a lot of film. He and his sister built a makeshift darkroom in their parents’ basement equipped to develop and print in black and white. If you are looking to build a darkroom of your own, I highly recommend looking for used equipment on Craigslist and asking around local high schools which may be getting rid of stuff from their lab. Boyfriend’s darkroom cost about $150 for everything (including a film scanner), so it’s definitely possible to do this on a budget.

I borrowed my brother’s Exacta 500 (found on Craigslist for only $15) and had a lovely time shooting on it -the shutter mechanism is quick and crisp, and the whole experience is quite satisfying. Unfortunately the aperture is very broken, meaning only about half of the pictures turned out.

A few of my favorites (all on Rollei Superpan 200, developed with Kodak D-76):

This was outside of a dilapidated/abandoned house for sale next to the highway. I got a few weird looks for pulling off the road and whipping out an old Soviet camera, but whatevs. That's just how I roll.
Somewhere in Longmont, CO.
I love going to old cemeteries. Fairmont was founded in the 1880s, and is a fascinating place to go. If you're into cemeteries, also check out Riverside in north Denver. Also of note, my brother and I joked about taking goth kid portraits while wandering around.
Statue at Fairmont Cemetery in Denver, CO.

Also, a new roll from my ever-delightful and ridiculous Holga 120.

It is SO WINDY in southern Wyoming. I'm pretty sure the other half of this billboard just blew away.
A billboard advertising fireworks outside of Tie Siding, WY (just south of Laramie).
This isn't actually a cafe anymore, just an empty building. Like the abandoned restaurant in The Goonies.
Virginia Dale Cafe, on the northern edge of Colorado.

For more, check out my flickr stream.

The title of this post is the same as Roland Barthes’ book Camera Lucida. There is a copy of it waiting for me at the library which will be picked up as soon as this snowstorm subsides. I’ll try to write something interesting about this book when I finish reading it, ok?

Leave a Reply

