2010 Retrospective

"Happy New Year" by *Sally M*
(via *Sally M*)

2010 was an odd year with a wide array of highs and lows. Mostly for my own record-keeping purposes, here is a loist of things that happened (in no particular order):

  • Finished my undergraduate honors thesis, a fifty-something page tome on anarchist terrorism in the U.S. and Europe between 1894-1901. This was one of the coolest and most difficult things I have undertaken.
  • Graduated college. In three years, no less!
  • Moved back home. Living with my parents after college often feels frustrating and infantilizing, but it’s honestly not all that bad. I just complain about it a lot.
  • Started taking my love of creative writing seriously. It doesn’t have to be a secret love forever.
  • Continued the best relationship ever. I am still so madly in love.
  • Helped my dad through a bone marrow transplant. This still isn’t over yet and he has a lot more recovering to do, but he is coming home from the rehab center TODAY. What a good way to end 2010.
  • Reconnected with my younger brother. He is the coolest 16-year-old ever, and hanging out with him is my favorite part of living at home.
  • Spent the first half of the year living with my best friends. Owl Babies, I miss you!
  • Had fun with photography. Learned to develop film, and generally had an awesome time.
  • Applied to eight law schools.
  • And on a related note, tried to figure out what to do with my life. Have not yet been successful with this one.

Like a lot of folks, I think making resolutions every December is not an effective means for self-improvement. Instead, here are my goals for 2011:

  • Focus on my writing. Writing fiction and poetry is the most difficult and wonderful thing I do. Time to make it serious.
  • Work as a freelance writer.
  • Take good care of myself. I’ll be spending a lot of time taking care of my dad, so one of my goals is to remember myself in the process.
  • Travel more! With a bit of luck (and money), Istanbul is in my future.
  • Decide on a grad school trajectory and go for it. Law school apps are done, but I’m not sure if that’s the path I want.

2010 was a pretty good year, but in honesty it will not be missed. On to the next one!

Leave a Reply

